A Matter Of Life And Death

 

In the health care field, I work with multiple clients/patients.

One guy I recently had for about a month and a half.

When I began working for him, I was the very first sent from my agency along with another woman who took on the day shift.

Aside from us two, there were other female health care professionals from another agency back and forth to attend to him.

He needed his catheter inserted at times. So, we were always there to do whatever we were assigned there to do.

One nurse had come to his home to fill in for the regular RN that would come during a routine visit. She happened to insert a catheter one day and made some type of error.

When I came in for the overnight shift there was blood running down the tube into my clients Foley bag.

The room he laid in bed at smelled terribly of excrement. The day health care worker filled me in on what took place earlier (the nurse stopping by and the patient bleeding afterwards) yet did not take heed to the blood, the odor of the room, or the clients appearance.

Maybe she was not experienced enough or did not know what to look out for in certain situations.

To me, it was an instant observation. He did not look good at all. The tint of his skin alerted me that something was wrong along with his lethargy.

I suggested he go to the hospital but he refused. I called late at night to report the incident to my supervisor who is a physician.

The next night I was supposed to go in for work I received a call from my agency that my client was in the hospital.

When he came out a week and a half later, he apologized to me for not going to the hospital when I told him to. He almost died as he had septic shock.

 

 

Leave a comment