The Year 1983: Monopoly, Movies, Meals, And Mom

When I was eight years old my mother and I got up one day and headed to an area of queens village where we use to shop at, eat at, go to the movies at, and frequent a favorite discount store of ours.

We use to go out all of the time.

On this particular day we stopped off at the discount store and purchased me the original board game Monopoly.

Then we headed to Burger King where she got her a whopper and me a whopper junior with fries.

Then we headed to the movie theater.

The year was 1983 and Scarface with Al Pacino was showing as the film had just came out. Back then, at that particular time, the movie theaters use to show double features.

Scarface was about three hours long and such a good movie that the whole entire audience stayed to see it a second time because also back then nobody had to pay an additional fee to watch a film over again.

Everyone sat through a boring hour and a half long movie until Scarface replayed on the screen. So all of us within the theater sat for approximately seven an a half to eights hours.

After viewing Scarface for the second time my mother and I took a cab home. We arrived at our house around one am in the morning.

Instead of going to sleep my mother stayed up and taught me how to play the board game Monopoly in which she had bought for me earlier the day before.

I had thought the gesture was so nice and we played until I understood and got the hang of the game.

Such a fond memory of the love, care, and fun my mother shared and displayed to me.

We always had activities to occupy our attention.

Another game my mother was enthusiastic about teaching me to play was the board game Life (The Game Of Life).

Oh, we had delightful pastimes.

 

4 thoughts on “The Year 1983: Monopoly, Movies, Meals, And Mom”

Leave a comment