Memories

 

When I was about twelve or thirteen I remember these commercials would come on the television advertising one to call up to win prizes through  automated/recorded quizzes.

So I called up the number and I had to choose the right or wrong answer by pushing the dial pads of the touchtone telephone my family owned.

I actually won and received a free coupon to go bowling at Jib Lane Bowling Alley though I never went since I wasn’t interested in the sport.

I began to call quite a few times to see what else I could win, however, most of the time it was the same old prize to Jib Lane as I kept winning the quizzes. I called so often that I discovered through repitition every Wednesday the prize was a dozen of free assorted doughnuts from dunkin donuts.

After I found out the bonus prize I would only call on Wednesday to get me some free doughnuts.

I knew how to beat the quizzes as I had gotten so familiar with the automated system. I was never a dummy and used my intuition to constantly win but after a while I gave it up. It was fun while it had lasted.

I had plenty of Jib Lane post cards mailed out to me to go bowling for free (I didn’t want that shit).

The quiz advertisement was stingy with the free doughnuts I only received a few free dozen coupons compared to all of the ones I had gotten to go to Jib Lane.

When I went to Dunkin Donuts on more than one occasion I was able to pick out any flavor of twelve doughnuts in which I wanted as the coupons stated.

Nowadays, I don’t even eat doughnuts, I haven’t eaten a doughnut in years but those were some cool memories.

 

 

Leave a comment